Missing, Presumed – Susie Steiner

Rating: 4.5/5

Read: 1st December 2016 – 17th December 2016

Review:missing-presumed

Edith Hind, child of Sir Ian and Lady Hind, lived in a cottage with boyfriend Will Carter, he raised concern with her parents and soon called the police when he returned home from his Mother’s house in Stoke to find Edith gone, with spots of blood dotted around, the door half open, lights on and her phone, keys and coat still inside.

At the beginning of the book we meet DS Manon Bradshaw on one of her many dates with men she has met on internet dating sites. Manon is soon part of the team searching for Edith. With pressure from the media and Edith’s parents, who just so happen to be close friends with the Home Secretary and surgeon to royalty, the Cambridge Major Incident Team have no room for error.

Throughout I didn’t have a clue whether Edith was going to be found dead or alive, or whether she’d be found at all. Nothing gave the story away! I wasn’t sure whether she’d ran away, her boyfriend had something to do with her disappearance, or whether her friend Helena or her college tutor Graham Garfield was involved. However as the story unravelled and Manon and the team discovered more information about Edith it was certain her life wasn’t as rosy and perfect as it all seemed. The twists in this book really took me by surprise, and for me that’s what makes a good book!!

This was a really gripping, page-turner for me right from the very start. I loved having an insight to all of the characters (with each chapter changing characters to give the story from different points of view) and gaining an understanding of them individually. Although I was hoping for a slightly more explosive ending I was still impressed with the story and shocked when I found out where Edith was and the reasons behind it. I absolutely loved reading this book and it was obvious the amount of research that had been carried out by Susie Steiner in order to create the perfect detective novel. I cannot wait to read more by this author and I will definitely be recommending the book at my next book club meeting!!

Leave a Reply

