The Night Stalker – Robert Bryndza

Rating: 5/5

Read: 12th January 2017 – 22nd January 2017

Review:

thenightstalkerIn the dead of a swelteringly hot summer’s night, Detective Erika Foster is called to a murder scene. The victim, a doctor, is found suffocated in bed. His wrists are bound and his eyes bulging through a clear plastic bag tied tight over his head.

A few days later, another victim is found dead, in exactly the same circumstances. As Erika and her team start digging deeper, they discover a calculated serial killer – stalking their victims before choosing the right moment to strike.

The victims are all single men, with very private lives. Why are their pasts shrouded in secrecy? And what links them to the killer?

As a heat wave descends upon London, Erika will do everything to stop the Night Stalker before the body count rises, even if it means risking her job. But the victims might not be the only ones being watched… Erika’s own life could be on the line.

How did I forget how utterly amazing this series is? Seriously one of the best books I have ever read! For a book to be so outstanding for me I must feel like I have built a relationship with the main character, this is exactly how I felt with Erika Foster. I felt like I was one of her colleagues with her at the crime scenes and trying to crack the case in the incident room at Lewisham Row. I felt emotion for her, I felt her sadness and grief, for her late husband who passed during a drug raid two years ago, I also felt the adrenaline she would have been feeling at the murder scenes and relief / accomplishment of discovering successful leads in the case.

I love how fast paced the book is, the further I got into the story, the more I couldn’t put it down and I found myself still awake at 2am rapidly reading those pages!! It didn’t even click with me who the killer was until chapter 39, although when I look back it was fairly obvious, duh? The killer freaked me out a little bit, I found the chapters from Night Owl’s POV very weird and the character was obviously very disturbed due to past experiences of abuse. Although I found it weird, I loved it and thought it was a great way to portray the killer! I prefer to hate and be freaked out by the killer as opposed to feeling pity for them.

The first, big jaw-dropping moment for me was when Erika received a phone call from The Night Stalker, I was terrified for her! And I couldn’t tell where the story was going to go from there, was the killer going to kill the next victim on the list or go after Erika?! This is another thing I LOVED about this novel, you can never foresee what will happen next and I definitely didn’t expect the ending!!

A definite 5/5 novel by the BRILLIANT Robert Bryndza, I’d rate it higher if it was possible!! My favourite detective series EVER! Cannot wait to read the third in the series!

3 thoughts on “The Night Stalker – Robert Bryndza

Leave a Reply

