The Passenger – Lisa Lutz

Rating: 5/5

Read: 22nd January 2017 – 28th January 2017

Review:

In case you were wondering, I didn’t do it. I didn’t have anything to do with Frank’s death. I don’t have an alibi, so you’ll have to take my word for it…

Forty-eight hours after leaving her husband’s body at the base of the stairs, Tanya Dubois cashes the-passengerin her credit cards, dyes her hair brown, demands a new name from a shadowy voice over the phone, and flees town. It’s not the first time.

She meets Blue, a female bartender who recognizes the hunted look in a fugitive’s eyes and offers her a place to stay. With dwindling choices, Tanya-now-Amelia accepts. An uneasy―and dangerous―alliance is born.

It’s almost impossible to live off the grid today, but Amelia-now-Debra and Blue have the courage, the ingenuity, and the desperation, to try. Hopscotching from city to city, Debra especially is chased by a very dark secret…can she outrun her past?

This book was unlike anything I have ever read before and I absolutely loved it! The story gripped me right from the start and I was so intrigued as to why ‘Tanya’ packed her bags and left her husband dead at the bottom of the stairs, as the story continued my curiosity grew, why was this woman so used to running away to different states, with a new appearance and complete new identity. Tanya was her first (of many) change of identity, who was this woman and what happened to her in the first place?

After her husband’s death she goes on the run and ends up in a bar where she meets ‘Blue’, similarly she has also escaped her life and changed her name, Blue sees through ‘Amelia’s’ disguise. The woman become close as they can clearly relate to one another. The women decide to swap identities and go their separate ways on the run, again. However I questioned whether Blue’s intentions were what she said they were or whether she was trying to get our multiple-name main character into trouble.

Particularly at the beginning of this book, I felt everywhere Tanya/Amelia/Debra went people ended up dead and she always managed to get away, leave the area, change her identity and create a new life for a while. This to me seemed slightly unrealistic, there’s only so many times you can be in the wrong place at the wrong time and just leave with a different disguise without it seeming suspicious or somebody starting to ask questions! Nevertheless it created a fantastic story which was so fast paced and mesmeric! There was always something different and exciting happening!

I absolutely LOVED the ending of this book! All the questions I was asking myself whilst reading the book were answered in the last couple of chapters. It was just a brilliant ending to a phenomenal book! (I can’t say much more without spoiling it)

I truly take my hat off to Lisa Lutz for creating such a well written, clever novel with a complex story, I can imagine it’s difficult to create something like this which flows so well but Lisa Lutz did this justice. At no point did I feel confused whilst reading the novel, which could have occurred easily considering the main character had a number of different identities, lives and locations. I would 100% recommend this to anybody who enjoys a good thriller. Cannot wait to read more by Lisa Lutz!

Leave a Reply

