The Darkest Lies – Barbara Copperthwaite *Blog Tour* @bookouture @BCopperthwait

SO excited to be kicking off the blog tour for this fabulous book today!! A huge Happy Publication Day to the lovely Barbara, I hope you have a wonderful day lovely!The-Darkest-Lies-Kindle

Rating: 4/5

Read: 16th April 2017 – 27th April 2017

Review:

A mother desperate for the truth. A daughter hiding a terrible secret.

Melanie Oak appeared to have the perfect life. Married to her childhood sweetheart, Jacob, the couple live with their beautiful, loving, teenage daughter, Beth, in a pretty village.

Nothing can shake her happiness – until the day that Beth goes missing and is discovered beaten almost to the point of death, her broken body lying in a freezing creek on the marshes near their home.

Consumed with grief, Melanie is determined to find her daughter’s attacker. Someone in the village must have seen something. Why won’t they talk?

As Melanie tries to piece together what happened to Beth, she discovers that her innocent teenager has been harbouring some dark secrets of her own. The truth may lie closer to home and put Melanie’s life in terrible danger…

 

I must start this off by saying I am a huge fan of Barbara Copperthwaite, I read one of her previous books a while ago, Flowers for the Dead and thought that was absolutely incredible and has always really stuck with me! So if you haven’t already checked that out, please do! It really is a piece of art!

I absolutely loved the storyline of The Darkest Lies, the suspense and unknowing made the whole book so consuming and utterly unputdownable!! The only issue I had was I really struggled to form a relationship with the protagonist, Melanie, I really didn’t like her and found her quite irritating! She just came across so crazy and frantic as she ran around the village accusing every resident of something different every two minutes! I mean, I fully understand she was going through hell and trying to find out what happened to her daughter but it just made me want to scream ‘CALM DOWN WOMAN’ at her all the time and to leave the investigation to the police, as she was told numerous times!!!

Throughout the book I really truly believed I knew exactly what was going on and the idea that Melanie’s new friend was responsible for Beth’s hospitalization made me ridiculously tense!! There were so many clues dropped throughout the book which made me think I knew the direction it was heading! But wow, I was wrong! The twists in this book were fantastic and I definitely didn’t see them coming!

I particularly loved how I thought I’d reached the end of the novel and then it suddenly switched directions and the pace quickened once more and led to even more twists and turns as the story plunged deeper!! I felt like I got the ending I wanted which is very sThe Darkest Lies - Blog Touratisfying for a reader!

Overall The Darkest Lies was a very addictive thriller which grasped my attention until the very end, despite the tiresome mother! After reading this I also felt relieved that I don’t live in a close-knit community where everybody knows each other’s business and secrets are kept! Super excited to read more by this wonderful author!

A big thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley for my advance copy and to Kim Nash forthe opportunity of being on this blog tour!!

 

About The AuthorBarbara Copperthwaite author picture
 

The people behind the crime, from the perpetrator to the victim and beyond, are what intrigue Barbara Copperthwaite.

She was raised by the sea and in the countryside, where she became a lover of both nature and the written word – the latter leading to a successful career as a journalist. For over twenty years people have kindly and bravely shared with her their real experiences of being victims of crime. Now, through fiction, Barbara continues to explore the emotional repercussions.

www.barbaracopperthwaite.com

 
4 thoughts on “The Darkest Lies – Barbara Copperthwaite *Blog Tour* @bookouture @BCopperthwait

Leave a Reply

